Thin time and gay unicorns

Bücher mit Aufnahmegerät und Kopfhörern

In the 4th episode of the Engineered Unicorns diversity is key. Books recommended include the genres romance, non-fiction physics, fantasy, contemporary, shifter romance, gay romance, alternate history and science fiction, the authors are trans, gay, Italian, PoC or plain old cis gender, but mostly female. The book list is looooong. The Fantasy book recommendation of this month is Gail Carrigers „Defy or Defend“, stylish Vampires and the power of a well chosen wall paper.The Non-Fiction book recommendation is Carlo Rovellis „The Order of Time“, a small but mindbending physics and poetic book.

The recommendations come not only from SandyJ but also from LisaL. This episode celebrates the magic of books and different voices. Black, female and LGBTQ+ voices matter (!!!!) and they provide fun and enlightening reading material, too.

This episode will have its premiere stream on Sunday, June 7, at 7 p.m. Further streaming on Tuesday 8 p.m., Wednesday 3 p.m. and next Saturday 10 a.m..

Oldschool UKW Radio Broadcast at 104.8 on Tuesday, 8 p.m.


Recommended Books aka Five Star Reads:

Gail Carriger „Defy or Defend“ https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/51969905-defy-or-defend

G. Carriger „San Andreas Shifters“ https://www.goodreads.com/series/206131-san-andreas-shifters

Gail Carriger „Parasol Protectorate“ https://www.goodreads.com/series/46888-parasol-protectorate

Gail Carriger „Finishing School Series“ https://www.goodreads.com/series/58635-finishing-school

Gail Carriger  Definitive Guide to Reading: https://gailcarriger.com/2018/08/01/the-definitive-gail-carriger-book-reading-order/

Carlo Rovelli „The Order of Time“ https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/45427805-the-order-of-time

Carlo Rovelli „Sieben kurze Lektionen über Physik“ https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28357863-sieben-kurze-lektionen-ber-physik

 

Current Reads

Cynthia Hand, Brody Ashton, Jody Meadows „My Lady Jane“ https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22840421-my-lady-jane

Casey Mcquiston „Red, White and Royal Blue“ https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/41150487-red-white-royal-blue

 

Publishing in June (probably ;-):

Christelle Dabos „Im Sturm der Echos“ https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/48847952-im-sturm-der-echos

Talia Hibbert „Take a hint, Dani Brown“ https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/49976087-take-a-hint-dani-brown

Bethany C. Morrow „A song below water“ https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/39085465-a-song-below-water

 

Publishing in September (probably ;-):

Susanna Clarke „Piranesi“ https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/50202953-piranesi

 

Books Recs by Black authors that I read:

Claire Kann „I fit makes you happy“, Contemporary/Romance, 2019, American Library

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/40851643-if-it-makes-you-happy

Talia Hibbert „Get a life, Chloe Brown“ Romance, 2019

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/43888874-get-a-life-chloe-brown

 

Books Recs by Black authors that Lisa read:

N.K. Jemisin „The Broken Earth Series“ https://www.goodreads.com/series/112296-the-broken-earth

 

Books Recs by LGBTQ+ authors that I read or want to read:

T.J. Klune „The ligthning-struck Heart“, Fantasy, Gay Romance, 2015

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24468673-the-lightning-struck-heart

Charlie Jane Anders „ The City in the Middle of the Night“, Science Fiction, 2020

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/49113465-the-city-in-the-middle-of-the-night

 

Lists:

Fantasy Books by Black Authors: https://www.goodreads.com/list/show/133321.2020_Fantasy_and_Science_Fiction_Books_by_Black_Authors

Queer Fantasy Books:

https://bookriot.com/2018/08/03/best-lgbt-fantasy-books/